evetore.blogg.se

Jerry seinfeld master of my domain quote
Jerry seinfeld master of my domain quote





jerry seinfeld master of my domain quote
  1. #JERRY SEINFELD MASTER OF MY DOMAIN QUOTE HOW TO#
  2. #JERRY SEINFELD MASTER OF MY DOMAIN QUOTE TRIAL#

#JERRY SEINFELD MASTER OF MY DOMAIN QUOTE TRIAL#

Watch Jiro prepare a piece of sushi, and you aren't just watching him adding a piece of fish to a mound of rice, but rather the culmination of decades of trial and error, identifying what improves the taste, look, and feel of the dish, and leaving all else behind. constantly removing the superfluous to reduce the object of their attention down to it's quintissential qualities. Jiro and Seinfeld appear to be applying a similar sensibility to their work, i.e. I have only to hew away the rough walls that imprison the lovely apparition to reveal it to the other eyes as mine see it.” “In every block of marble I see a statue as plain as though it stood before me, shaped and perfect in attitude and action. Michaelanglo once famously described the act of sculpting this way: In this regard, their approaches are highly reminiscent of Steve Jobs and Jonathan Ive at Apple, where obsessing over the smallest detail is not just part of their design ethos, it's core to the company's DNA. You know those Japanese cricket cages? Tiny, with the doors? That’s it for me: solitude and precision, refining a tiny thing for the sake of it.” “It’s similar to calligraphy or samurai,” he says. "Seinfeld will nurse a single joke for years, amending, abridging and reworking it incrementally, to get the thing just so.

#JERRY SEINFELD MASTER OF MY DOMAIN QUOTE HOW TO#

Seinfeld relentlessly iterates how to word a punchline. Jiro serves sushi differently to left-handed and right-handed patrons, and once required an apprentice to make egg sushi 200 times before it was deemed acceptable. The broadband starts to narrow the moment you stop.” I used to wonder, Why am I doing these sets, getting on a stage? Don’t I know how to do this already? The answer is no. As soon as you stop practicing, the pathway begins shrinking back down. “I read an article a few years ago that said when you practice a sport a lot, you literally become a broadband: the nerve pathway in your brain contains a lot more information. “If I don’t do a set in two weeks, I feel it,” he said. I'll continue to climb to reach the top but no one knows where the top is."

jerry seinfeld master of my domain quote

There is always a yearning to achieve more. I do the same thing over and over, improving bit by bit. They are constantly practicing, honing their work, and seeking to improve.Īs Jiro describes it: "All I want to do is make better sushi. Both are widely considered to be among the best in the world at what they do, and yet listening to them, one comes away with the impression they will never be satisfied. Jiro has been preparing sushi for over 70 years Seinfeld has been a stand-up comic for over 35 years. Never stop practicing (there is no perfect) Here are my observations regarding five shared practices from two wholly unrelated masters of their domains:ġ. I was also struck by the number of similarities between Seinfeld's approach to his craft and that of Jiro Ono, the 86-year old master sushi chef and subject of the highly acclaimed documentary " Jiro Dreams of Sushi." I strongly recommend the film to anyone interested in watching the pursuit of excellence personified.

jerry seinfeld master of my domain quote

I always find it valuable when people at the top of their profession provide insight into how they do what they do, but as a long time fan of the comedian and the show (in my opinion, Seinfeld stands alone as the best sitcom of all time), I found this to be a particularly engrossing read. In addition to providing a view into the life of one of the most successful stand-up comedians of the modern era, the article focuses on the method behind Seinfeld's observational comic genius, and specifically, the painstaking process he applies to developing a joke. Why don’t we ever talk about Jerry and Elaine when we are arguing that age-old “can men and women be friends” thing? I mean, we could argue that since Jerry and Elaine had a thing previously, they could never really be considered “friends,” but that would be a terrible argument because clearly Jerry and Elaine were always the best of friends.I recently read a great profile in the New York Times about Jerry Seinfeld written by Jonah Weiner (no relation). Like a model, or a coffee table book, or a cigar manufacturer. Neighbors are the people who can be there for you as soon as you need them–for anything. Similarly, it is important to really know and love your neighbor. And not only that, but all of Jerry’s friends walk into his apartment without knocking or having to unlock the door or anything.Īnd it’s New York, people! Isn’t that place dangerous? Eh, what are friends for? Jerry is obviously guilty of this as well, considering Kramer’s entrance is arguably the most famous entrance in television history. Monica and Rachel / Joey and Chandler never locked their doors. The two most iconic sitcoms of the ’90s are both entirely guilty of this lesson: never lock your door, apparently.







Jerry seinfeld master of my domain quote